Julian Marley to release new album, “Awake”


Stephen and Damian are not the only members of the Marley clan with a busy summer ahead. On May 26, Julian Marley will release “Awake”, his first studio album in nearly six years, via the Ghetto Youths label.

Recorded at the Lion’s Den in Miami, Florida and Tuff Gong in Kingston, Jamaica, the 16-track follow-up to 2003’s “A Time and Place” is said to reflect the inspiration of, “all the family who have come before [him].” Which means, one should expect a sound that, “incorporates the roots-reggae sound that Julian has made his own, infused with street-energy hip-hop, bubbling dancehall and a smooth combination of R&B and reggae.” And like a good Marley, Awake is rife with a message – the album “call for everyone – youths and elders – to awaken to life’s joy and rewards and to do something positive with their lives.”

To accomplish this, Marley got a little help from his family; both Damian and Stephen appear on the album. Members of Marley’s personal band, The Uprising, along with Marcia Griffiths, an original member of the I Threes, also lent their talents to “Awake”.

Check out the first single, ‘Boom Draw’ here…

Boom Draw – Julian Marley

Also stay tuned as in conjunction with the release of Julian’s new joint I’ll be giving away an autographed copy of the album and a couple pieces from the new Parish Clothing line (www.parish-nation.com)

Awake Tracklist:
01. Awake
02. Boom Draw
03. On The Floor
04. Rose Hall
05. Little Too Late (feat. Stephen Marley)
06. Justin Time
07. Stay With Me
08. All I Know
09. Trying
10. Violence (feat. Damian Marley)
11. Sharp Aza Razor
12. Oh Girl feat. Mr Cheeks
13. Too Hot Too Dance
14. Jah Works
15. Road Of Creation
16. Things Ain’t Cool

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *